Birth of a Novel

Woo Hoo… finally, my first draft is done.

Which is not to say that my beta readers will get their hands on it just yet. To keep myself from beginning revisions before hitting “The End” I have been very scrupulous about not re-reading more than small bits here and there. Were I to begin editing before finishing, finishing would have been jeopardized.

Teal balloon

Structurally there are several places where scenes will intercut, but currently they just look like very long scenes. My problem is that the fun part is editing. Getting the bones in place is the hard part. If I’d allowed myself to re-read any more than absolutely necessary done may never happened.

Ruby balloon

Some things changed during the course of the writing process too, character rebellion leading to outline revision & recasting type stuff; more smoothing needed.

And I know I will need to add at least a few additional scenes needed for transitions and strengthening of build ups and whatnot. I’m thinking it will take about a week to get that all done.

I have a few outstanding blog posts to do (expect one here for Monday) as well as a couple of birthday presents I need to make this week, so it may take a wee bit longer.

I’ll keep you posted.

Woo Hoo!

2 thoughts on “Birth of a Novel

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.