Laurel L. Russwurm's Free Culture Blog

a writer, the copyfight and internet freedom

Title Tracks: Inconstant Moon

leave a comment »

Monkey Blog Badge for NaNoWriMo 2010 Participant

I’m still working to self-pub last year’s NaNoWriMo novel, Inconstant Moon. I had hoped to be done before NaNo began so I could start serializing it during November, but there just wasn’t time.

When I decided to get down to it and finally write a novel for NaNoWriMo last year, it was a last minute thing. I didn’t have much time to think about it, and so I pulled the title out of one of my favorite lines from Shakespeare. This line was important, because my debut novel is partly a coming of age story, and it’s a little bit crime fiction, with a look at relationships, and a bit of suspense, the real underlying theme for me has always been honesty.

Juliet cautions Romeo not to swear his love on anything as changeable — untrustworthy — as the moon. She’s telling him he bloody well better not lie to her.

Although I most certainly would have read Larry Niven’s story of the same name, and probably still have the paperback of his Inconstant Moon collection somewhere since I was a voracious science fiction reader and a big Niven fan back in the day, it was a huge surprise to be told that my debut novel inadvertently shares the title of a Larry Niven short story and collection. It’s been so long since I read it that I had forgotten Larry Niven used it as a title.

"Gibbous Moon" used on the cover of my INCONSTANT MOON

But of course, he will have swiped the phrase from the same source I did: “Romeo and Juliet”. Niven would have chosen the title because it references the physical moon, I chose it because Juliet’s speech from the balcony scene was wonderfully appropriate. Funny thing is that my big worry was that people would read my title and look at my book cover and think it was a vampire story.

My Inconstant Moon isn’t SF or a vampire story either…. at least not in the literal sense anyway. Not that I haven’t read my share of both, just that it’s not.

😀 It’s amazing how many titles the Bard has provided.

Written by Laurel L. Russwurm

November 16, 2010 at 4:28 am

Leave a Reply

