Laurel L. Russwurm's Free Culture Blog

a writer, the copyfight and internet freedom

Happy Earth Day

with 2 comments

Moonscape in foreground, looking at planet earth rising

home sweet home

Between trying to get my debut novel, “Inconstant Moon,” ready to launch, computer technical difficulties, and the current federal election (I’ll be posting an #elxn41 piece to Oh! Canada later today) it would have been easy to forget all about Earth Day.

The weather is fairly miserable this year, but it is still an important day. One of the common themes in science fiction read in my youth was the caution that if we mess up the planet irreparably, without space travel humanity will be, ahem, screwed. Personally, although I am in favor of space travel, it is still important not to destroy this planet. Even if I could move to Mars or the Pleiades with Desdemona, I’d still want the option of coming home to visit.

a tiny chipmunk with eyes closed is held in child's hand while feeding from medicine syringe

Earth is my home.

As it is home to other forms of life.

One day a few years back I found a baby chipmunk stumbling around, wandering into the street.  A closer look showed that his eyes weren’t open yet.  A few days before I’d seen a dead chipmunk on the side of the road, so it was a very good guess that this little guy was an orphan.

So I brought him home.

Amazingly we managed to raise him.  I had been advised to start him on goat’s milk with acidophilus to help digest it, and that did the trick. As he got older, I fed him husked sunflower seeds and grass &tc. but his favorite was tender dandelion greens, which fortunately were not covered in pesticide in my yard. So Chippy Baby grew up.

chipmunk with eyes open, held in child's hand

I got him a large cage so he would be able to build muscle so that when released he’d be able to run away from predators and survive.
Chipmunk in cage about to enter clear plastic climbing tube

Chipmunks live underground, but ours was raised in a hamster cage with a climbing tube.  He could sit at the top of his cage and look around, secure from being picked up by human hands.

When he told us it was time to go, we released him.

Happily he survived, and can be seen checking on us from on high.

Chipmunk on the rooftop

Happy Earth Day.



Image Credits
“Earthrise” NASA image photographed by astronaut Bill Anderstaken on Apollo 8 mission. All NASA photos are released into the public domain.

All other photographs are by laurelrusswurm released under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported (CC BY 3.0) License

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. He’s adorable.

    To get on topic, a while back I blogged about a wacko group down in the states that were equating environmentalists with Satan. They’d set up a website called ‘Resisting the Green Dragon’ where they ranted and raved a very incoherent message.

    It happens that I’m an ordained priest. So I sat down with my bible, and blogged a response.

    A couple of weeks back some goof left a comment which boiled down to ‘it’s our Earth, God left it so we could ruin it however we wanted.’

    Apparently he/she/it hasn’t read Genesis. I’ve just quoted the story of Cain and Abel back at them. Wonder if it will draw a response.

    Wayne

    Wayne Borean aka The Mad Hatter

    April 22, 2011 at 4:41 pm

    • Yes, I’ve run into that attitude too. The old “God gave us dominion over the lower orders” idea.

      As a parent, if I gave my child something that he wantonly destroyed, I wouldn’t be very pleased. Especially if it was, say, a puppy.

      If they believe in God − a deity reputed to watch sadly as every sparrow falls − maybe they should start wondering just how annoyed said deity will be that they have wantonly trashed her creation….

      Laurel L. Russwurm

      April 22, 2011 at 5:12 pm


Leave a Reply

