Laurel L. Russwurm's Free Culture Blog

a writer, the copyfight and internet freedom

NaNovember and Inconstant Moon ~ Update

with 6 comments

Orwell at NaNoWriMo social, Symposium 2010

I seem to have gotten horribly behind on my NaNoWriMo manuscript. Heck, I haven’t even got cover art yet. (Irony: I had basic cover art for the contenders I decided to pass on. C’est la vie.)

If this was my first NaNoWriMo, when I wasn’t sure if I would be able to manage to write fifty thousand words in the month of November at all, that would have been serious cause for alarm. But for me in the here and now, I’m fine with it. Having done it twice, I am aware that I can do it, and in fact would be able to make the count if I devoted myself to it. So knowing that I may not make the 50k in during NaNovember is in the back of my mind, but just getting a good start on my third novel this year will be enough of a return for my 2011 NaNo participation.

I’ve been to a few write-ins and will attend a few more, and NaNoWriMo can certainly be a valuable experience even if you don’t finish it. This year my region’s ML’s have decided to help our Kitchener-Waterloo-Cambridge-Guelph mascot, Orwell the Piggy Bank, to try his hoof at writing a novel. So people are taking turns at writing bits of the chain story for the little oinker. So far, not me. I am so far behind that I can’t afford to write for Orwell, until/unless I manage to get my wordcount caught up. Hah. How’s *that* for motivation🙂

There are just too many other things I have to do this year, particularly in regard to launching its predecessors. What is happening with the new book, “Sans Seraph,” is that the story is coming together and the characters are beginning to grow into their own voices, so that’s alright.

a graphic banner reads Inconstant Moon. rendered in the Rebel Caps font with a gibbous moon nestled between the words

But the first November over-scheduling casualty was the Thursday special feature for the Inconstant Moon blog. Ouch!

That comes from having a too tight time budget, without any contingency to allow for sickness. Although it’s possible to write/blog with some illnesses, migraine is not one of them. So when my brain recovered enough to allow me to turn on a computer last night, I remembered that today was Remembrance Day but forgot my Inconstant Moon Special Feature! I could probably cobble one together in a rush, but since Friday’s half gone, I think I’ll just call it a miss, and undertake not to miss a deadline again.

Today’s email was cause for a happy dance; the New York Times best selling author of LEAST WANTED and IDENTITY CRISIS, hard boiled fiction writer Debbi Mack told me she enjoyed reading Inconstant Moon and has agreed to write a cover blurb! That is fabulous news. It will surely be a terrific addition to the cover art when I release the re-engineered versions (fingers crossed) of Inconstant Moon in December.

Woot!

[Now I need to go write something on the order of six thousand words…. ]

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Congrats on your book. Though I don’t believe in luck, I think you would appreciate the sentiment.

    just another schmoe

    November 14, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    • I think you’ll get your book published.
      Sometimes one’s mind can feel blank, or in my case, a nasty case of insomnia, can send one in a detour in a long way off.

      I almost forgot, life has a way of throwing snags in one’s way. at the risk of sounding dim, I was wondering what fiction are you writing. If I may be bold in asking.

      just another schmoe

      November 14, 2011 at 10:45 pm

      • Thanks. A very wise teacher once told me that the only dim questions are the ones you never ask, and thus never learn the answers to.

        I know I’ll get my book published because I’m doing it myself, under my own Libreleft Books imprint. It’s taking a bit of time as I’m learning about self publishing as I go, but there you are. Worse, I’m a stickler, and I want to do it right.

        I’m redoing the print and eBook formats (now that I know what I’m doing) and will have it ready for release on the Kindle and the Nook soon. There is a book trailer rattling around in my head as well. We’ll have to see how much I can manage.. If you want to check out my debut novel, Inconstant Moon is serialized online. I suspect it won’t help cure your insomnia, but it might be able to fill the hours🙂

        The first draft of my second novel, The Girl In The Blue Flame Cafe is almost finished, and I hope to have it ready for beta readers soon.

        And of course I’m also beginning my third novel for the 2011 NaNoWriMo. Although I’d hoped to try my hand at historical fiction this time out, I simply didn’t have time to undertake the necessary research, so my newest novel, Sans Seraph is more of a traditional whodunit than its predecessors, both of which leaned more toward psychological suspense. But I’m running behind, so back to the grindstone.

        Laurel L. Russwurm

        November 14, 2011 at 11:39 pm

  2. Yes, Remembrance Day rather caught me by surprise. I’ve been in a lot of pain the last couple of weeks, and didn’t even think of posting Heather’s Remembrance Day Song anywhere.

    Oh well…

    Wayne

    Wayne Borean

    November 12, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    • One of the most moving Remembrance days I’ve had was spent at McCrae House when our son was just the right age.

      Tell Heather it brought tears to my eyes. (I’m a big wuss, but even so.)

      Laurel

      Laurel L. Russwurm

      November 12, 2011 at 2:38 pm

  3. […] I managed to finally send off a blurb I said I’d consider giving to author Laurel Russwurm’s book INCONSTANT …. […]


Leave a Reply

