Laurel L. Russwurm's Free Culture Blog

a writer, the copyfight and internet freedom

Thursday September 19th is Talk Like A Pirate Day

with 2 comments

My regular face avatar with an eyepatch and bandana drawn on and a black border across the bottom and side which says Talk Like A Pirate

Ahoy matey… don’t be a landlubber today!

Although I try to never to change my social media avatar (since it is my personal “brand”) I couldn’t resist doing so today, matey.  Because today is one of my saltiest days, the legendary  Talk Like A Pirate Day, matey!

Although the “Talk Like a Pirate Day: “I’m a Pirate” song isn’t going to shake up the world, if you watch the video, you can see the youngest pirate singer get sucked into the idea of the thing.  This is nicely illustrative of why Talking Like A Pirate is so much fun.

Still, me hearties, those of us over the age of ten might find it somewhat challenging to remember just how to  talk like a pirate.  Well blow me down,  there are online resources like the how to page, and if that’s not enough, there is always the English-to-Pirate translator. Arrrr!!

I’ll leave you with my all time favourite pirate song,”The Last Saskatchewan Pirate” in music video form, presented by Captain Tractor, from their album “East of Edson“.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Today is Wednesday, September 19’th.

    russellmcormond

    September 19, 2012 at 2:13 pm

    • Arrrr… it’s easy to forget what day of the week it is when you’re out of sight of land, matey!😛

      Laurel L. Russwurm

      September 19, 2012 at 2:16 pm


Leave a Reply

