Laurel L. Russwurm's Free Culture Blog

a writer, the copyfight and internet freedom

Busy Bee

leave a comment »

Laurel L. Russwurm Victoria Glen Park Banner

My primary goal at present is to complete the first draft of “The Girl In The Blue Flame Cafe,” but I’ve been pulled off on a few side trips.  There are two time sensitive articles I must write for Whoa!Canada in the very near future, and a couple of things happening on the personal front have been keeping me jumping.

As a self publishing author, I am my own publicity department. Spreading my Internet presence as widely as possible is an important part of self publishing. To that end, I’ve recently increased my online holdings.

This blog was originally supposed to be the online central resource for my writing. As it happens, other issues like free culture and copyright have dominated here. Although I had hoped that those problems would have been resolved by now, sadly that isn’t the case.

Laurel L. Russwurm, Author Union Station Panorama Banner

Laurel L. Russwurm, Author Avatar

I’ve just set up a multi- platform “Laurel L. Russwurm, Author” page. The idea is to create a forum to keep everyone up to date with my novelling (without politics!)  My new Author page is:

On The Open Web (no registration needed): Laurel L. Russwurm, Author

On Facebook (if you’re already a member): Laurel L. Russwurm, Author

On Google+ (so far the slowest starter) Laurel L. Russwurm, Author

Readers can drop by whichever is most convenient for them.  Of course, the formats are a little different, and I’ve chosen different banner art for the three pages as a visual reminder where I am.  (Yes, I navigate by landmarks, too.)  All three banner images are photos taken at Toronto’s Union Station, which is where “The Girl In The Blue Flame Cafe” begins. (It’s a fabulous opening, if I do say so myself🙂 )

In the course of setting up the page, I’ve begun with a mini visual biography.  Although there is some crossover (a few photos are on Google but not Facebook and vice versa) the entire online photo album is available on the open web page spread over three Biography entries.

To make it easier for my readers, from now on I’ll simulpost the same content to all three versions of the Author page.

deviantART

I’ve also decided to expand my visual base by signing up with deviantART. Although I’m on Flickr and Tumblr, I’ve had so much fun creating digital art for the “Inconstant Moon” serialization blog, as well as taking photographs, that another outlet to share my work seemed like a good idea.

I especially like being able to set my account with a Creative Commons license default.  deviantART also makes it possible to sell prints of the images you upload (if they are big enough), but we’ll have to see how that goes🙂 #notholdingmybreath

I’ve posted several of the images I created for the Inconstant Moon blog, (reminding me I still have several character pages and behind the scenes articles to finish).  Visit my new deviantART profile and browse my Gallery

for your convenience

I’ve added the RSS feeds for both the new pages to the sidebar here.

My intent now is to try to keep all the other online activities to a minimum so I can finish the “Blue Flame” draft, but don’t worry… I’ll be back!bee collecting pollen at a large purple flower

the busy bee we hear tell of… this is a detail from one of my photographs in my new deviant ART gallery

Leave a Reply

