Laurel L. Russwurm's Free Culture Blog

a writer, the copyfight and internet freedom

LibreTea and Free Culture

leave a comment »

When I began blogging in 2009, this was my very first blog. It was the place I established as my home base to get my bearings as I tried to figure out what’s what — and what I was doing here.

Yueh Tung Chinese Restaurant - Libre TeaAlthough I’ve been known to refer to this as my “personal blog,” it has never been what most people would consider “personal,” because although I share my personal opinions and ideas, I try to be mindful of the privacy rights of others, so very little in the way of personal information finds its way in.

Early in my blogging career I began learning about copyright, and as the implications began to sink in, this blog began to morph into a Free Culture blog, although I’ve only just now definitively identified it as such by renaming it.

Last weekend I attended the first ever Libre Tea in Toronto. You might be wondering what a #LibreTea might be, and the best explanation I can offer is that a Libre Tea is a social gathering for people who work for and support the idea of freedom.

(And who am I to resist such a brilliantly apt pun?)

This LibreTea was a joint gathering for Ontario LibrePlanet, Ubuntu and CryptoParty folk — three groups of who share an interest in freedom.

Some of the freedom fighters who attended the gathering are pictured below;

LibreTea Toronto

FREE CULTURE FILM FESTIVAL

And this weekend I presented a Free Culture Film Festival as part of the local Software Freedom Day Celebrations put on by KWLUG and The Working Centre.

The films screened at The Free Culture Film Festival qualify as free culture either because:

  • they are in the Public Domain or
  • they have been licensed to share.

This means you can legally watch and share them as you wish. Each film title is the link that will take you to a page where you can watch and/or download the movie online:

Charade (1963) Cary Grant, Audrey Hepburn ~ Public Domain
Never Weaken (1921) Harold Lloyd & Mildred Davis ~ Public Domain
His Girl Friday (1940) Cary Grant, Rosalind Russell ~ Public Domain
Fleischer Studios animated “Superman” (1941) and “The Billion Dollar Limited” (1942)
Warner graciously made high definition copies of all of the the Fleischer Studios/Famous Studios Superman shorts online.
The Durian Movie Project: Sintel (2010) Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 License
Sita Sings The Blues (2008) originally released as Creative Commons Attribution Share-alike; now CC0

[It is not unheard of for media to be knocked off the Internet via specious DMCA Takedown notices. After all, such takedowns don’t require any pesky evidence and there are zero consequences to the DMCA applicant if peoves to be incorrect. If any of these links doesn’t work for you Drop me a line at laurel.l@russwurm.org]

FREE CULTURE FILM FESTIVAL poster - Charade (1963), Never Weaken (1921), His Girl Friday (1940), Fleischer Superman (1941, 1942)m Sintel (2010) and Sita Sings The Blues (2008)

Leave a Reply

